Coll. 086: Fran's Place Collection Finding Aid

Title

Coll. 086: Fran's Place Collection Finding Aid

Description

One of the oldest bars in Massachusetts, Fran's place had a long and vibrant life in the city of Lynn. John Collin's opened the tavern in sometime in the 1920's (the exact date is not known). In 1940 the business was passed on to John's parents, Fran and Robert and was relocated to its current location on Washington Street. After the death of Robert, Fran and her children renamed it Fran's place.

The bar was a gathering place for the local LGBTQ Community, drawing a large lesbian crowd from the bowling alley next door. It is known as the first bar to host a fundraiser for HIV/AIDS research, the first bar to have a float in the Boston Gay Pride Parade, and the first to host gay weddings.

Fran's place closed in September 2016.

Date

1983-1987

Rights

Email: info@historyproject.org for more information

Identifier

THP-FA-086

Files

Coll. 86 - Fran's Place Collection Finding Aid.pdf

Citation

“Coll. 086: Fran's Place Collection Finding Aid,” Documented | Digital Collections of The History Project, accessed September 21, 2017, https://historyproject.omeka.net/items/show/417.

Document Viewer

Comments